Quick Answer: The Luraco i9 Max Plus is worth its $13,490 price if you’re tall, want arm, hand and calf massage that most chairs skip, and value U.S. assembly and a 3-year in-home service warranty. But it’s a 2022 design. Luraco’s new iRobotics 11 costs only $500 more ($13,990) and adds AI spinal detection and a 3D calf and knee system. And the $14,990 Special Edition adds a second roller engine, not just trim. Luraco’s own manual rates the standard chair for 300 lbs and up to 6 feet 10 inches.
The i9 Max Plus is the Luraco chair this site recommends most. It’s named in 10 guides, including the best Luraco massage chair ranking, the best leather massage chair roundup, and every brand comparison this site runs against Luraco, such as Daiwa vs Luraco and Human Touch vs Luraco. It never had a review of its own. So in October 2026 we read the documents Luraco publishes itself: the i9 Max Plus Series user manual (February 2026), the series comparison chart (December 2025), the warranty and return policy, Luraco’s UL certificate, and the company’s entry in FDA’s registration database. Two things this site had been saying turned out to be wrong, and they’re corrected below.
By the numbers:
- $13,490 on Luraco’s own store, matching the MAP on Luraco’s comparison chart and the price Massage Chair Planet lists in all three colors on October 29, 2026. The $15,490 MSRP is a reference price.
- 300 lbs and 4’7” to 6’10”, per the specifications table in Luraco’s i9 Max Plus Series user manual. The roller track is 60 inches long, the seat 22 inches wide.
- 2,887 participants in the Weber State University Stress Relief Center study Luraco cites. Average self-rated stress fell from 4.3 to 2.4 out of 10 after a 15 to 20 minute session. That study tested the older iRobotics 7, though, and describes no control group.
- About 135 professional massages to break even, at the roughly $100 average session cost reported in the American Massage Therapy Association’s consumer survey. Twice a week, that’s about 16 months. See our worth-it breakdown for the full math.
Luraco i9 Max Plus (iRobotics 9 Max Plus)
- Patented Split L-Track (60 inches) that Luraco says gives L-track glute coverage plus S-track-style stretching, with one 3D "Butterfly Technology" robotic roller engine.
- Powered easy-entry armrests with adjustable positions, hand rollers, calf rollers, triple foot rollers and Achilles nodes, plus arm, lower-back and foot stretching by powered actuators.
- Heat for hands, lower back and feet, a separate "Warm Chair" seat heater, 52 air cells, 9 auto programs, 5 user profiles and over-the-air Wi-Fi software updates.
- 300 lb max user weight, 4'7" to 6'10" height range, 120 to 170 degree recline, about 200 W max power draw (Luraco manual).
- Automotive leather on the whole chair; 3 years parts and in-home labor, 5 years parts, 10 years leather for home use.
Luraco's manual recommends 20-minute sessions, and the chair streams audio over its own 10 W Wi-Fi speaker.
Spec sheet, checked against Luraco’s own documents
| Spec | What we confirmed | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $13,490 sale price ($15,490 MSRP) | luracochairs.com product page and Luraco comparison chart (MAP), Massage Chair Planet listing, checked October 29, 2026 |
| Generation | 9th-generation iRobotics, series introduced September 2022 | Luraco product page and press release, September 22, 2022 |
| Max user weight | 300 lbs | Luraco user manual, Table 3, and product page |
| User height | 4'7" to 6'10" | Luraco product page; manual says "up to 6'10"" |
| Track | 60" patented Split L-Track | Luraco manual and comparison chart |
| Roller engines | 1 x 3D Butterfly Technology engine (Special Edition: 2) | Luraco comparison chart |
| Motors / air cells | 14 motors, 52 air cells | Luraco comparison chart |
| Seat width | 22" | Luraco comparison chart |
| Dimensions | 48" H x 38" W x 65" L upright; 87" L reclined | Luraco comparison chart and manual |
| Recline / leg rest | 120 to 170 degrees; leg rest extends up to 8" | Luraco manual |
| Chair weight | 280 lbs on the comparison chart; "about 310 lbs" in the manual and on the product page | Luraco's own documents disagree |
| Shipping | 1 box on a 71" x 34" x 70" pallet, 380 lbs, freight class 250 | Luraco comparison chart |
| Power | About 200 W max, grounded outlet | Luraco manual |
| Timer | 5 to 30 minutes; 20 minutes recommended | Luraco manual |
| Warranty (home) | 3 yrs parts + in-home labor, 5 yrs parts, 10 yrs leather | Luraco warranty page and manual |
| Safety listing | UL 1647 (UL file E340228); FDA-registered Class I therapeutic massager | Luraco UL certificate; FDA registration and listing database |
”i9 Max” or “i9 Max Plus”? The name problem
More people search for “Luraco i9 Max” than for “i9 Max Plus,” but the chair Luraco sells today is the Plus. The i9 Max was the original 9th-generation chair. On September 22, 2022, Luraco announced four i9 Max Plus models (standard, Special Edition, Billionaire Edition and Royal Edition) “rolling off the assembly lines in mid-October.” A June 2023 update added a deeper 3D stroke for the neck and shoulders (“3D extends 1 inch more”), adjustable stretch intensity, and a way to reset the chair from the armrest buttons if the software freezes.
Some dealer listings still describe the chair as the i9 Max in their body copy, and this site’s Luraco ranking has warned that Amazon’s naming is inconsistent. The practical check: a current chair should say i9 Max Plus and list the Split L-Track and 3D Butterfly Technology. If a listing says only “i9 Max” at a price well under $13,490, ask whether it’s an older unit, a demo, or a used chair. Luraco’s warranty doesn’t cover chairs bought from unauthorized dealers or display models that spent more than 12 months on a showroom floor.
What $13,490 buys that most chairs don’t
Most massage chairs at half the price cover the back, glutes and calves. The i9 Max Plus also covers the parts other chairs ignore:
- Arms and hands. Hand rollers that work with the arm airbags, armrests that move to different positions for the massage, and a hand and arm stretch driven by a powered armrest actuator, which Luraco says no other chair has.
- Easier entry and exit. Powered armrests that swing out of the way. This matters more for older buyers than a spec sheet suggests. See our best massage chair for seniors guide.
- Fit for tall users. A 60-inch track and a 6’10” height ceiling, among the highest of any chair this site tracks. Our best massage chair for tall people guide puts that in context.
- Leather. Luraco covers the whole chair in automotive leather, with a 10-year leather warranty. That’s why it’s the top pick in our leather massage chair roundup.
Luraco also takes a swipe at the 4D label on its own product page: “If air, motor speed, music, or heat is considered a dimension then Luraco i9 Max Plus would be a 7D Chair.” That’s marketing too, but it’s a fair point. The roller hardware is 3D (up and down, side to side, in and out). Our 2D vs 3D vs 4D guide explains what the fourth “dimension” usually means.
Correction 1: the Special Edition adds a second roller engine, not just trim
This site has said, across three pages, that the $14,990 i9 Max Plus SE “mainly adds cosmetic and upholstery upgrades” and no new massage technology. Luraco’s own comparison chart says otherwise. The SE has two 3D Butterfly Technology robotic engines instead of one. Luraco’s SE page calls this “doubled 3D engines (2x3D)” for “full back, neck, and shoulder massage at the same time.” The chart also lists 18 motors instead of 14.
| Feature | i9 Max Plus | i9 Max Plus SE | iRobotics 11 Standard |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sale price (MSRP) | $13,490 ($15,490) | $14,990 ($16,990) | $13,990 ($15,990) |
| 3D Butterfly roller engines | 1 | 2 | Doubled engines not listed (they start at the i11 SE) |
| Motors | 14 | 18 | Not stated |
| Emergency backup power (returns chair upright in an outage) | No | Yes | Not stated |
| Blood pressure and heart rate monitor | Optional | Included | Optional |
| Owner-name keypad screen and leather name tag | No | Yes | No (offered on i11 SE) |
| Calf and knee | Calf rollers with air | Calf rollers with air | 3D calf and knee system, calf stretch, knee airbags |
| Heat zones | Hands, lower back, feet | Hands, lower back, feet | Hands, lower back, calves, feet |
| Body scan | Body scan | Body scan | "AI-powered spinal detection" |
| User profiles | 5 | 5 | 8 |
| User height / weight | 4'7"–6'10", 300 lbs | 4'7"–6'10", 300 lbs | 4'7"–6'9", 300 lbs |
| How to order on Luraco's site | "Order Now" button | "Order Now" button | "Call Now To Order" |
That makes the SE the better buy for someone who wants the neck and shoulders worked while the lower rollers keep going, or who worries about getting out of a reclined chair during a power cut. One catch in the return policy: Luraco says chairs with “special personalization orders cannot be returned.” If you have the SE’s keypad screen and name tag personalized, assume you’ve given up the 30-day return window.
The $500 question: i9 Max Plus or the new iRobotics 11?
Luraco now sells an 11th-generation series, the iRobotics 11 (i11), which its site calls “newly released.” The i11 Standard costs $13,990, just $500 more than the i9 Max Plus. It keeps the Split L-Track, the Butterfly rollers, the powered armrests and the 300 lb rating, and adds:
- AI-powered spinal detection that Luraco says maps your spinal curve from real-time sensor data;
- a 3D calf and knee massage system with calf stretching, knee airbags and calf and knee heat;
- 8 user profiles instead of 5, and new “Classic” and “Futuristic” program modes.
For most buyers starting fresh in late 2026, the i11’s extra calf and knee hardware is worth $500 on paper. Three things to weigh first. Luraco’s i11 page asks you to phone in an order rather than check out online. Its height ceiling is listed an inch lower, at 6’9”. And it’s new: the i9 Max Plus has four years of software updates behind it. One detail worth knowing: the i9 manual tells users not to massage the “kneecap region,” while knee airbag compression is a headline feature of the i11.
The i9 Max Plus still makes sense if a dealer discounts it below $13,490 as the i11 takes over, or if you want the SE’s dual-engine mechanism for $1,000 less than the i11 equivalent. In the i11 line, Luraco lists “doubled 3D engines” only from the $15,990 i11 Special Edition up.
Correction 2: Luraco’s lineup is 12 chairs, not 4
This site’s Luraco pages have described “all four current models” as the Sofy, i7 Plus, i9 Max Plus and i9 Max Plus SE, with the i7 Plus at about $8,999. Luraco’s own store no longer lists the i7 Plus. On October 29, 2026, it lists 12 chairs:
| Chair | Sale price | MSRP | Max user | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sofy | $3,490 | $4,990 | 250 lbs, 6'2" | 58" track; Luraco calls it a theater chair |
| Wellness Massage Chair | $5,990 | $6,990 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | 60" track |
| Model 3 Hybrid SL | $9,990 | $11,990 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | Same Split L-Track and Butterfly rollers; 9 motors |
| i9 Max Plus | $13,490 | $15,490 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | This review |
| iRobotics 11 Standard | $13,990 | $15,990 | 300 lbs, 6'9" | 11th generation |
| i9 Max Plus Special Edition | $14,990 | $16,990 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | 2 roller engines |
| iRobotics 11 Special Edition | $15,990 | $17,990 | 300 lbs, 6'9" | 2 roller engines |
| iRobotics 11 Big & Tall Edition | $17,990 | $19,990 | 350 lbs, 6'10" | 2 roller engines; only Luraco rated above 300 lbs |
| iRobotics 11 Billionaire Edition | $24,990 | $28,990 | 300 lbs, 6'9" | 2 roller engines |
| iRobotics 11 Royal Edition | $29,990 | $33,990 | 300 lbs, 6'9" | 2 roller engines |
| i9 Max Plus Billionaire Edition | $29,990 | $35,000 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | Customized software and remote welcome screen |
| i9 Max Plus Royal Edition | $49,990 | $55,000 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | 18K gold name plate and gold-plated trims |
The most useful row for value shoppers is the Model 3 Hybrid SL at $9,990. Luraco’s comparison chart gives it the same 60-inch Split L-Track, Butterfly rollers, 52 air cells, 300 lb rating and warranty as the i9 Max Plus. To get there, it drops the powered easy-entry armrests, the arm and hand rollers, the calf rollers, hand heat and the Warm Chair feature, and uses 9 motors instead of 14. If your sore spots are the back and glutes rather than the hands and calves, that’s $3,500 saved.
”FDA registered” is not “FDA approved”
Luraco calls its chairs “medical massage chairs” and lists them as “FDA Registered, UL, and CE listed.” Here’s what that means. FDA’s public registration and listing database shows Luraco Technologies, Inc. of Arlington, Texas (registration number 3006737652), with “iRobotics Series Medical Massage Chairs” listed under product code ISA, “Massager, Therapeutic, Electric,” a Class I device (21 CFR 890.5660). Class I is FDA’s lowest-risk tier, and FDA’s classification database marks this product code as exempt from 510(k) premarket review. Registration and listing tells FDA who makes the device and where. It is not clearance or approval of any health claim, and Luraco’s own disclaimer says the chair “is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.”
The UL mark carries more weight. Luraco’s UL certificate of compliance (UL file E340228) covers its iRobotics chairs, including the iRobotics 9 and iRobotics 11, under UL 1647, the safety standard for motor-operated massage and exercise machines, and the Canadian CSA C22.2 No. 68 standard. Luraco points out that a UL-listed chair matters for OSHA if you put one in a workplace. Luraco’s Care Chair program has placed its chairs with police, fire and 911 dispatch teams. Our massage chair safety guide covers what the listing does and doesn’t protect against. If you plan to pay with pre-tax money, see our FSA/HSA guide first: a Class I listing doesn’t make the chair eligible on its own.
The study Luraco cites, read in full
Luraco links a Weber State University Stress Relief Center report by Dr. Michael Olpin. It’s the source behind the “scientifically proven” claim in Luraco’s press materials. The numbers, averaged over 2,887 participants after a 15 to 20 minute session:
| Measure | Before | After |
|---|---|---|
| Perceived stress (0 to 10) | 4.3 | 2.4 |
| Stress-related pain (0 to 10) | 2.1 | 1.1 |
| Blood pressure | 114/76 | 110/73 |
| Resting heart rate | 76 bpm | 70 bpm |
Read it for what it is. The study used the iRobotics 7, two generations older than the i9 Max Plus. It reports before-and-after averages with no control group, so it can’t separate the chair’s effect from 15 minutes of sitting still in a quiet room. The PDF Luraco hosts carries no journal citation. It’s good evidence that people leave a Luraco chair feeling calmer. It isn’t evidence that this chair beats a cheaper one, and it isn’t a medical trial. For the wider research picture, see our massage chair benefits guide.
Warranty and returns: the fine print
Luraco’s home warranty is one of the better ones at this price. This site’s Daiwa Supreme Hybrid review found 2 years parts and 1 year labor on a chair that costs $10 more. But read the terms on Luraco’s warranty page before you sign:
- Years 1 to 3: parts and in-home labor. Years 4 and 5: parts only. Leather: 10 years, but the same page excludes “normal wear-and-tear including leather or fabric coverings,” so the leather term covers defects, not age.
- Extended plan: 2 more years of “comprehensive protection,” bought within 90 days. Luraco’s comparison chart prices it at $890 for a total of 5 years parts and 5 years labor.
- Where it applies: not Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico or international sales. The warranty is non-transferable and tied to the original location, so call Luraco before you move.
- Not covered: power surges, cracked remote screens, liquid and pet damage, chairs from unauthorized dealers, and service calls where the technician finds no problem (you can be billed for the trip).
- Commercial use: 6 months parts and labor, 1 year parts, 1 year leather, and no extended plan.
- Returns: 30 calendar days from delivery, coordinated through the dealer, in the original box on a standard 48 x 40 inch pallet. You prepay the return freight, and shipping costs aren’t refunded. Orders shipped outside the continental U.S. can’t be returned at all.
Our massage chair warranty guide compares these terms with the other brands this site covers.
Space, delivery and daily use
Luraco’s own numbers don’t quite agree here either. The manual asks for “space over 81 inches, enough for full recline mode,” but the same manual’s spec table lists a reclined length of about 87 inches. The manual’s placement section asks for 36 inches of clearance in front of the chair, 12 inches between the backrest and the wall, and 18 inches from the nearest armrest to a wall. Added to the 65-inch upright length, that’s a floor run of about 113 inches, or 9 feet 5 inches. This isn’t a wall-hugger. Measure before you order and check our massage chair dimensions guide.
The chair ships in one box on a pallet weighing about 380 lbs, so plan for a ground-floor path or a delivery crew. Our guide to moving a massage chair covers stairs. The manual also sets usage limits: 20 minutes recommended, no more than 30 minutes per session, and ideally no more than 30 minutes a day in total. It says the chair is not recommended for pregnant women, children under 14, or people with broken bones, distorted joints or skin injuries. It also says not to sit in it wearing shoes, glasses or a watch, and to clean the leather only with leather-care products.
Luraco i9 Max Plus Special Edition
- Everything in the i9 Max Plus plus a second 3D roller engine (18 motors vs 14), per Luraco's comparison chart.
- Emergency backup power returns the chair to its starting position if the power fails.
- Blood pressure and heart rate monitor included; owner-name keypad screen and leather name tag (personalized orders are non-returnable).
Luraco iRobotics 11 (i11) Standard
- 11th-generation iRobotics with the same Split L-Track, Butterfly rollers, powered armrests and 300 lb rating.
- Adds a 3D calf and knee system with calf stretch, knee airbags and calf and knee heat, plus 8 user profiles.
- Listed for 4'7" to 6'9" users; Luraco's site takes i11 orders by phone.
Luraco Model 3 Hybrid SL
- Same 60-inch Split L-Track, 3D Butterfly rollers, 52 air cells, 300 lb rating and residential warranty as the i9 Max Plus, per Luraco's chart.
- Gives up powered easy-entry armrests, arm and hand rollers, calf rollers, hand heat and the Warm Chair feature; 9 motors.
How it compares at the same price
| Chair | Price | Max user | Track | Home warranty | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luraco i9 Max Plus | $13,490 | 300 lbs, 6'10" | 60" Split L-Track, 3D | 3 yrs parts + in-home labor, 5 yrs parts, 10 yrs leather | Tall users, arm/hand/calf coverage, U.S. assembly |
| Daiwa Supreme Hybrid | $13,500 | 300 lbs, 6'6" | 49" HybriFlex S+L, split rollers | 2 yrs parts, 1 yr labor | Inversion-style decompression stretch |
| Human Touch Super Novo 2.0 | $10,999 | 285 lbs | S+L, IntelliTrack 3D | 5-year limited | Refined zero gravity for $2,500 less |
| Osaki OS-Highpointe 4D | About $4,999 | See review | SL track, 4D | See review | This site's best overall, at about 37% of the price |
What it costs per session
The break-even table is this site’s standard yardstick. Cost per session assumes the chair lasts at least the 5-year parts warranty. A professional massage averages about $100 per the AMTA.
| Chair | Price | Sessions to match $100 massages | Per session, 3x a week for 5 years | Per session, daily for 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luraco Model 3 Hybrid SL | $9,990 | 100 | $12.81 | $5.47 |
| Luraco i9 Max Plus | $13,490 | 135 | $17.29 | $7.39 |
| Luraco iRobotics 11 Standard | $13,990 | 140 | $17.94 | $7.66 |
| i9 Max Plus + $890 extended warranty | $14,380 | 144 | $18.44 | $7.88 |
| Luraco i9 Max Plus SE | $14,990 | 150 | $19.22 | $8.21 |
Who should buy the i9 Max Plus, and who shouldn’t
Buy it if you’re over 6 feet 2 inches and most chairs miss your shoulders, if hand, arm and calf massage matter as much as your back, if a 3-year in-home service warranty is worth paying for, or if U.S. assembly and a UL-listed chair for a home office or clinic matter to you.
Look at the i11 instead if you’re buying new at full price in late 2026 and want the calf and knee system for $500 more. Look at the SE if you want both roller engines on your neck and back at once. Look at the Model 3 Hybrid SL if you only care about the back and glutes. Skip Luraco if you weigh over 300 lbs (the i11 Big & Tall is the only Luraco rated for 350), live in Alaska or Hawaii, or have less than about 9.5 feet of floor to give it.
The bottom line
The Luraco i9 Max Plus holds up against its own paperwork. The price is the same $13,490 everywhere, the 300 lb and 6’10” ratings are in the manual, and the home warranty includes three years of in-home labor, better than many flagships. Two things this site had wrong: the Special Edition’s extra $1,500 buys a second roller engine, not just trim, and Luraco’s lineup now runs to 12 chairs with no i7 Plus. The bigger change is the iRobotics 11 at $13,990. In late 2026 the i9 Max Plus is the proven chair rather than the newest one, so buy it at a discount, or for the SE’s dual engines. For a cheaper chair from another brand, start with our best massage chair pillar or the best Luraco ranking.